“but you don’t look sick”

A conversation from yesterday has been rolling around in my head. I cannot go into it, it didn’t directly involve me, but it has had me thinking that much more about how those of us with invisible illness don’t “look” sick… but we ARE!

What does sick look like? Who decides what sick looks like, whose definition are we going with?

I have invisible illnesses that can have visible symptoms (I get the malar rash with my systemic lupus). I also have illnesses that have no visible symptoms – my endometriosis is the example that comes to mind of one that I’ve been diagnosed with.

Another thing that comes to mind is that you can’t tell my blood pressure just by looking at me, but my blood pressure changing sure can do a mess to me.

Leave a Reply

